Assam University :: The central University at Silchar

Assam University is a Central University at Silchar,Assam. It is only the second Central University of Assm after Tezpur University.

The main campus of the University is located at Dorgakuna which is about 20 kms away from the main city of Silchar. The main campus is located in a huge area of about 600 acres.The second campus of Assam University is located at Diphu in East Karbi Anglong District Assam.

assam university

image source: pradintime

The university has 16 schools. There are 42 departments under these 16 schools.

The courses offered by Assam University are:

  • Environmental Science
  • Humanities
  • Language
  • Information Science
  • Life Science
  • Physical Science
  • Social Science
  • Law
  • Technology & Management Sciences

There are 5 districts under the jurisdiction of Assam University. These five districts are Cachar.Karimganj,Hailakandi,North Cachar Hills & Karbi Anglong District.

Some of the reputed Colleges of these five districts under the University are:

  • Cachar College at Silchar(Cachar District)
  • Gurucharan College at Silchar(Cachar District)
  • Womens’ College at Silchar (Cachar District)
  • Radhamadhab College at Silchar (Cachar District)
  • Srikishan Sarda College at Hailakandi (Hailakandi District)
  • Womens College at Hailakandi (Hailakandi District)
  • Karimganj College at Karimganj (Karimganj District)
  • Karimganj Law college at Karimganj (Karimganj District)
  • Ramkrishna Nagar College at Karimganj (Karimganj District)
  • Diphu Government College at Diphu (Karbianglong District)
  • Diphu Law College at Diphu (Karbianglong District)
  • Rangsina College at Dongkamokam (Karbianglong District)

Also read: NIT Silchar!!A premier Engineering College!!

Some of major Assam University teaching schools along with the departments are as below:

Ashutosh Mukhopadhyay School of Education

  • Department of Educational Science

Jawaharlal Nehru School of Management Studies

  • Department of Business Administration

Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan School of Philosophy

  • Department of Philosophy

Triguna Sen School of Technology

  • Department of Electronics & Communication Engineering
  • Department of Applied Science & Humanities
  • Department of Agricultural Engineering
  • Department of Computer Science & Engineering

Mahatma Gandhi School of Economics and Commerce

  • Department of Economics
  • Department of Commerce

National Institutional Ranking Framework (NIRF) ranked Silchar University  87th among Universities in the year 2018.

Assam University is an institutional signatory to the United Nations Global Compact (UNGC) & Global Network of Universities for Innovation (GUNI), Barcelona and for its commitment to educational social responsibilities.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!